Tuesday, 26 November 2013

India's Struggle For Independence - 1857 Revolt.

History is my favorite subject in school. The word Independence means freedom, to me. And I feel lucky to be born in an independent country like India. But when I read the history of India especially the freedom struggle, I was astounded by the bravery, courage, determination and love for motherland by our freedom fighters. 

I did a project on the "First War of Independence -1857" more popularly called as "Revolt of 1857" and beginning of the long struggle for freedom from the British Rule. 
Bahadur Shah Zafar
Begum Hazrat Mahal

In the Indian Sepoys struggle for Independence, they were lead by the Kings of Princely states  like Bahadur Shah Zafar II (Delhi), Tantya Tope (Gwalior), Rani Laxmi Bai (Jhansi), Begum Hazrat Mahal (Awadh), Raja Kunwar Singh (Rajput Royal of Jagdishpur) and various others.

The cause for revolt were many; like the economic, social, religious and military being the immediate causes.  In the course of Revolt, the Sepoys broke out into an open revolt at Meerut in April, 1857.
Rani Laxmi Bai
Kunwar Singh

The Revolt was started by the Sepoys but the participation of the peasants and the artisans gave the Revolt it's real strength . It reflected the Hindu-Muslim unity. 

Although the Revolt was a great event, it was effectively suppressed by the East India Company, for the fact that it was not spread out to other parts of the country.  The Heads of the Princely States were more interested to protect or get back their Kingdoms/Provinces and did not act in cohesion with others. Bad planning and execution was the main cause for the failure of the Revolt.  However, it started the beginning of the end of the Rule of the East India Company and paved the way for taking over by the British Monarchy. 

Tantya Tope


  1. Awesome Aditi, keep penning! - Aparna Reddy

  2. very well written Adithi!! -Suma Nagaraj

  3. My heart bleeds and goes to those people who scarified their lives for the progeny during the freedom struggle.Our politicians now .....?